- Basics - Start Here!
Age: You need to be 21 or older in order to use marijuana.
Where marijuana can be used:
- You can consume marijuana in non-public places, e.g., in the privacy of your home.
- Marijuana is not allowed on campus or in the residence halls.
Possession vs. use:
- Possession refers to having some form of marijuana on you, or in your residence.
- You can possess up to 8 oz. in your home and 1oz. outside the home.
- You can possess up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis.
- You may grow up to 6 plants.
- Use refers to actively ingesting or smoking a marijuana product; this includes edibles.
Law vs. Policy:
- California law differs from campus polices and local policies. See below for common questions regarding the difference.
- When a law is violated, there could be a civil/criminal consequences; when a policy is violated there could be student disciplinary consequences (through Office of Student Support and Judicial Affairs, or Housing), or an infraction (City of Davis)).
- You can be in violation of a policy while not in violation of a law.
- What happens if I am under 21 ane caught using marijuana off campus?
What happens if I am under 21 and caught using marijuana on campus?
- A UC Davis Police Officer will respond to the situation
- You have violated California Law and Campus policy; you can potentially be charged (1) criminally (2) administratively or both. Your marijuana will be confiscated.
- Administratively: you will be referred to OSSJA and/or Housing for a reported policy violation. If found responsible, disciplinary outcomes will depend on the nature and severity of the incident.
- Criminally: The Officer who responds to the situation will assess individual circumstances (e.g., history of prior contact, cooperation level, etc.) to determine whether to charge criminally. If they do charge criminally, the drug offense can go on your record.
Note on West Village
West Village is on campus, however, instances will be referred to Housing and/or OSSJA on a case by case basis. When the case is referred, the administrative process outlined above applies. If the case is not referred, West Village management will go through their own processes to address the incident.
- What happens if I am over 21 and caught using marijuana on campus?
- You will be referred to OSSJA and/or Housing for a reported policy violation. If found responsible, disciplinary outcomes will depend on the nature and severity of the incident.
- What happens if I am under 21 and caught using marijuana off campus?
- This is an infraction. You will be charged a fine.
- What happens if I am over 21 and caught using marijuana in a public location off campus?
This is a City of Davis infraction.
You can be charged a fine.
- What happens if I possess more than California law allows?
This is a misdemeanor. (Amounts listed under "Basics - start here first" section above)Consequence: up to 6 months in county jail and/or fine up to $500
- Gifting and selling marijuana
You can gift or share up to one ounce of marijuana.If you transport or share more than one ounce, this is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and up to $500.
If you sell to minors, this is a felony, punishable by 3-7 years in jail.
- Driving under the influence of marijuana (DUID)
Marijuana impacts skills required for safe driving, including alertness, concentration, coordination and reaction time.
Driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) is usually a misdemeanor in the state of California and penalties include 3-5 years DUI probation, a fine around $1,800, DUI school, drivers license suspension and possible jail time.
If you have more than one DUI/DUID on your record, the penalties listed above increase.
You can receive a felony DUID if you are a repeat offender or the DUI/DUID injured/killed someone.